• Entry type: Event
  • Entry ID: AWE0137

Kibble Awards for Women Writers

  • Occupation Award


The Kibble Awards for Women Writers were established by Nita May Dobbie in memory of her aunt Nita Bernice Kibble. They recognise female writers who have published fiction or nonfiction classified as ‘life writing’.

There are two Kibble awards; the major Kibble Award, worth $20,000 and the Dobbie encouragement award, valued at $2500.

In 2008 Adelaide-based Carol Lefevre, who left school at 16 to sing in a rock band, won the Kibble Award for her first novel, Nights in the Asylum. Karen Foxlee, a nurse-turned-author from Gympie in Queensland, snared the Dobbie encouragement award for her debut work, The Anatomy of Wings.

Published resources

Related entries

  • Related Women
    • Kibble, Nita Bernice (1879 - 1962)
    • Dobbie, Nita May (1904 - 1992)