• Entry type: Award
  • Entry ID: AWE6479

Mary Gilmore Award

(1956 – )
  • Occupation Award


The Mary Gilmore Award was created in 1956 by trade unions ‘to encourage literature “significant to the life and aspirations of the Australian people.”

Since its inception, awards have been presented in several categories, including: novels, poetry, a three-act play and a short story.

Currently, as of 2019, the Association for the Study of Australian Literature (ASAL) administers the award, which is now awarded for poetry only.

Related entries

  • Awardee
    • Brinsmead, Hesba Fay (1922 - 2003)
  • Related Women
    • Gilmore, Mary Jean (1865 - 1962)