• Entry type: Resource
  • Entry ID: AWH003924

Papers of Kate McNamara, circa 1960-2000 [manuscript]

  • Repository National Library of Australia, Manuscript Collection
  • Reference MS 8512; MS Acc03/74; MS Acc03/79; MS Acc04/140; MS Acc04/156
  • Date Range 1960 - 2000
  • Description

    MS 8512 comprises: 1. Personal and literary correspondence, 1973-1988. Correspondents include Richard Hopkinson, Paula Keogh, Dorothy Hewett, Pip Proud, Peter Ride and Merv Lilley. 2. Reviews and newscuttings, 1984-1988. 3. Typescripts of 13 published and unpublished poems attributed to Michael Dransfield. 4. Drafts of plays: The Magnificent Millie McGoochie, 1983, Rubina, 1983; The rule of Zip/No chance, 1984; We’re not ratbags, 1985; The wish palace, 1985; The secret room, 1988; Darkness in the dream factory, 1988; and, Year of the dog, 1989. The Acc03/74 instalment includes diaries, letters, drafts of plays and poems, cuttings and printed ephemera. The Acc03/79 instalment comprises 11 folders relating to Year of the dog, Aktion surreal (2 folders), Johno Johnson, The infinite gays, Chris Barnett, The wish palace, International Conference of Women Playwrights, Francis Webb, Persephone, and early poems by McNamara. The Acc04/140 instalment consists of manuscripts and papers. The Acc04/156 instalment comprises further manuscripts and papers.

  • Quantity 0 2.4 m
  • Access Part available for research; part requires permission for research. Not for loan.

Related entries

  • Primary Creator
    • McNamara, Kate
  • See also
    • Hewett, Dorothy (1923 - 2002)