• Entry type: Resource
  • Entry ID: PR00028

Records of the Poetry Society of Australia, 1940-1962 [manuscript]

  • Repository National Library of Australia, Manuscript Collection
  • Reference MS 952
  • Date Range 1940 - 1962
  • Description

    Records include correspondence with members and affiliated bodies typescripts of poems; TS draft of the First Anthology (1956); 3 sets (1 complete) of Prism; ledgers, accounts and other business papers; press cuttings and photographs. Also some personal papers of Imogen Whyse concerning her work in theatre and her activities in support of International Children’s Communities in Europe. Correspondents include Dr. Felix Arnott, Peter Bladen, John Blair, D. Campbell, Betty Casey, Nancy Cato, D.M. Catts, Louis H. Clark, Stan Clarke, Patrick Coady, Brian Colebourne, Mary Coles, Commonwealth Literary Fund, Mary Cornish, Bishop Davidson, Eileen Davies, Margaret Dent, J. Devaney, Sir E. Millington-Drake (London) T. S. Eliot, Paula Fitzgerald, R.D. Fitzgerald, Vera Fitzgerald, J. Gielgud, Dame Mary Gilmore, Myrtle Glass, H.M. Green, Martin Haley, Dorothy Helmrich, A.D. Hope, P. Hopegood, R.G. Howarth, Hugh Hunt, Neil Hutchinson, Helen N. Jones, K.L. King, Ray Lawler, Norman Lindsay, A. Lloyd, James McAuley, M.B. McGrath, Prof. Milgate, Duncan Miller, Helen Reid, Dr. S. Scougall, Dame Edith Sitwell, W. Hart-Smith, D. Stewart and Judith Wright.

  • Quantity 1.21 m
  • Access Available for research. Not for loan.
  • Finding Aid http://nla.gov.au/nla.obj-252934717/findingaid

Related entries

  • See Also
    • Whyse, Imogen