• Entry type: Organisation
  • Entry ID: AWE5950

Supreme Court of Victoria – Court of Appeal

(From 1994 – )


Established in 1994, the Court of Appeal – one of the two divisions of the Supreme Court of Victoria (the other being the Trial Division) – determines whether a trial was conducted fairly, and whether the law was correctly applied. A bench, usually comprising three judges, hears criminal or civil cases decided in the County Court or Supreme Court Trial Division, and some appeals from the Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal. Currently 12 judges serve on the Court of Appeal.

Related entries

  • Related Women
    • Tate, Pamela Mary
    • Kenny, Susan
  • Related Organisations
    • Supreme Court of Victoria (1852 - )