Entry type: Organisation Entry ID: AWE0539

The Sybil Irving Memorial Fund Committee

Occupation Commemoration

Summary

Sybil Irving's friends and colleagues felt that her great contribution to the community, through her concern for the happiness and welfare of others, should not be forgotten.

A National Memorial Committee was formed to appeal for subscriptions. This brought response from all states and overseas.

A chain of memorials around Australia was planned – one in each capital city. The culmination was the unveiling, by Her Excellency Lady Cowen, of the memorial in Commonwealth Gardens, Canberra on 11 March 1979.

Details

The Sybil Irving Memorial Fund Committee National Chairman

Miss May Douglas, OBE - Girl Guides, AWAS, AAMWS

Deputy Chairman

Miss Mabel Cooper, MBE - Girl Guides

Honorary Secretary

Miss Maureen White - Australian Red Cross Society

Honorary Treasurer

Miss J Strahan - Council on the Ageing

Committee

Miss Jean Wood, OBE – Girl Guides, AWAS Miss P Adam-Smith – AWAS Miss R M Alsop – Australian Red Cross Society Colonel K M Fowler – WRAAC Miss A McArthur Campbell – Girl Guides, Crippled Childrens' Assn, Army Miss D Madden – AWAS Miss M S Williamson – AAMWS, WRAAC Mr A Wimpole – (Legal Advisor) Army

State Representatives

Queensland Miss Dorothea Skov – AWAS

South Australia Miss O J Michelmore – AWAS

Tasmania Mrs Sefton Taylor – Girl Guides, Red Cross

Western Australia Mrs B Clinton – AWAS, Red Cross

Published resources

Resource Trove, National Library of Australia, 2009

Author Details

Anne Heywood

Created9 September 2003Last modified6 February 2009