The Australian Women's Register

Entry ID: Event AWE0664

Australia Day Women's Ceremony

Occupation Commemoration

Summary

Since 1961 the National Council of Women of Victoria Inc (NCWV) and the Australia Day Council (Victoria) have come together to conduct a ceremony to honour the Pioneer Women of Australia and in particular, Victoria.

The Ceremony has been held in the Pioneer Women's Memorial Garden in King's Domain each January. Guides Victoria have generously provided a Colour Party for the raising and lowering of the Australian Flag. The Australia Day Council has undertaken to see to the music, microphone and flowers for the Guest Speaker. NCWV has undertaken to arrange for chairs to be placed in the garden, the sheaf of flowers for the Memorial Plaque as well as in discussion with the Australia Day Council (Victoria) to invite a Guest Speaker. The City of Melbourne through its Parks and Garden Department has assisted in many ways over the years as without their invaluable assistance it would not be possible to hold the Ceremony in these Pioneer Women's Gardens. The Minute's Silence was introduced to honour all pioneer women at the request of the Australian Church Women.

Events

2002 - 2002

Dr Shirley Sampson BA Bed PhD JP speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

2004 - 2004

Rabbi Aviva Kipen speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1986 - 1986

Ms Deborah Towns speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1974 - 1974

Mrs A W (Betty) Burton (Past NCWV International Secretary) speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1975 - 1975

Mrs J G Norris - Later Dame Ada speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1976 - 1976

Mrs Douglas Keep speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1977 - 1977

Mrs Mary Hoban speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1989 - 1989

Mrs Maurine Goldston - Morris OAM LDIC FRGS speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1990 - 1990

Ms Georgia Richter speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1961 - 1961

Dr (later Dame) Margaret Blackwood DBE speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1962 - 1962

Mrs G N Frost - now Dame Phyllis Frost AC DBE DSocSc(Hon) speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1963 - 1963

Mrs R R Gordon speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1964 - 1964

Mrs E W (Marjorie) Tipping speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1965 - 1965

Mrs E W Tipping speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1966 - 1966

Dame Mabel Brooks DBE speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1967 - 1967

Mrs G N Frost - now Dame Phyllis Frost AC DBE DSocSc (Hon) speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1968 - 1968

Mrs R R Gordon speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1969 - 1969

Mrs Breen - later Dame Marie and Senator for Victoria speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1970 - 1970

The Lady Casey (Associate NCWV) speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1971 - 1971

E Utassy speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1972 - 1972

Dr Elizabeth Turner speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1973 - 1973

Matron V Bullwinkel speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1978 - 1978

Miss Patricia Kennedy speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1979 - 1979

Miss Pat Waller speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1980 - 1980

Patsy Adam Smith AM speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1981 - 1981

Mrs Edith Hall speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1982 - 1982

The Hon. Mrs Justice Lusink speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1983 - 1983

Dame Beryl Beaurepaire DBE speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1984 - 1984

Dr Marion Adams speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1985 - 1985

Miss Edith Dawson speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

2005 - 2005

Susan Halliday speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

2006 - 2006

Colonel Janice McCarthy ARRC speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

2007 - 2007

Professor Judith Smart and Professor Marian Quartly joint speakers at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

2008 - 2008

Pauline Parker speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

2009 - 2009

Dr. Andi Diamond speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

2010 - 2010

Mrs. Cam Nguyen speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1991 - 1991

Dame Phyllis Frost AC DBE DSocSc (Hon) speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1992 - 1992

Dr Janet McCalman speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1993 - 1993

Mrs Jean Cheshire GCSJ OAM speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1994 - 1994

Mrs Elizabeth Proust speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1995 - 1995

Mrs Shirley Horne AM speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1996 - 1996

Prof. Brian Lloyd speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1997 - 1997

Sharon Firebrace speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1998 - 1998

Ivan Deveson - Lord Mayor City of Melbourne speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1999 - 1999

Mrs Sylvia Gelman MBE speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

2000 - 2000

Melba Marginson, Hong Vo, Medina Idriess speakers at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

2001 - 2001

Gracia Baylor AM speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1987 - 1987

Miss Wilma Hannah speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

1988 - 1988

Cr Leckie Ord - Lord Mayor City of Melbourne speaker at the Australia Day Women's Ceremony

Published resources

Book

Forty years on: women still pioneering: a collection of speeches from the Australia Day Women's Ceremony, Pioneer Women's Garden, King's Domain, Melbourne, 2002

Author Details

Anne Heywood

Created 22 January 2004 **Last modified** 30 April 2009