Entry type: Organisation Entry ID: AWE2108

Seven Writers

(1980 - 1998)

Occupation	Writers Group
Died	19981231
Born	19800101, Australian Capital Territory

Summary

Seven Writers was a group of Canberra-based women writers who met regularly to debate and critique one another's work.

This entry was sponsored by a generous donation from Christine Foley.

Details

Beginning with three members in 1980, the group grew to include seven female Canberra-based writers by 1984. They were founding member Dorothy Johnston (1948-), Margaret Barbalet (1949-), Sara Dowse (1938-), Suzanne Edgar (1939-), Marian Eldridge (1936-1997), Marion Halligan (1940-) and Dorothy Horsfield (1948-).

Members' published works include short stories, novels, children's literature, non-fiction, articles and reviews, and in diverse ways their writing vividly portrays life 'beneath the surface of Canberra'.

Collectively the group authored *Canberra Tales* in 1988, later republished as *The Division of Love* in 1996, an anthology of short stories about life in Canberra. This was considered a landmark publication for Canberra fiction and received an ACT Bicentennial Award.

Seven Writers raised the profile of Canberra-based authors, and in 1995 a photographic portrait of the group appeared in the National Library of Australia exhibition, *Beyond the Picket Fence*.

After the death of Marian Eldridge in 1997, the group did not meet again for one year. Sara Dowse relocated to Canada in 1998. She returned to Australia in 2004. The members are still friends but no longer meet formally to critique one another's work.

Published resources

Book

The Division of Love: Stories, Barbalet, Margaret et al, 1995 The Fog Garden: A Novel, Halligan, Marion, 2001 Counting Backwards and other stories, Edgar, Suzanne, 1991 West Block: the hidden world of Canberra's mandarins, Dowse, Sara, 1983 Silver City, Dowse, Sara, 1984 Schemetime, Dowse, Sara, 1990 Sapphires, Dowse, Sara, 1994 Digging, Dowse, Sara, 1996 Dream Run, Horsfield, Dorothy, 1992 Venom, Horsfield, Dorothy, 2005 The House at Number 10, Johnston, Dorothy, 2005 The Worry Box, Halligan, Marion, 1993 The Apricot Colonel, Halligan, Marion, 2006 Cockles of the Heart, Halligan, Marion, 1996 Collected Stories, Halligan, Marion, 1997 Eat My Words, Halligan, Marion, 1990 The Golden Dress, Halligan, Marion, 1998 The Hanged Man in the Garden, Halligan, Marion, 1989 The Living Hothouse, Halligan, Marion, 1988 Lovers' Knots: a hundred-year novel, Halligan, Marion, 1993 Out of the Picture, Halligan, Marion, 1996 Self Possession, Halligan, Marion, 1987 Spidercup, Halligan, Marion, 1990 The Taste of Memory, Halligan, Marion, 2004 Wishbone, Halligan, Marion, 1995 Maralinga, my love, Johnston, Dorothy, 1988 One for the Master, Johnston, Dorothy, 1997 Ruth, Johnston, Dorothy, 1986 The Trojan Dog, Johnston, Dorothy, 2000 Tunnel Vision, Johnston, Dorothy, 1984 Springfield, Eldridge, Marian, 1992 Blood in the Rain, Barbalet, Margaret, 1986 Far from a Low Gutter Girl: the forgotten world of state wards, South Australia, 1887-1940, Barbalet, Margaret, 1983 Steel Beach, Barbalet, Margaret, 1988 Lady, Baby, Gypsy, Queen, Barbalet, Margaret, 1992 The Presence of Angels, Barbalet, Margaret, 2001

Resource

Trove, National Library of Australia, 2009

Site Exhibition

From Lady Denman to Katy Gallagher: A Century of Women's Contributions to Canberra, Australian Women's Archives Project, 2013, http://www.womenaustralia.info/exhib/ldkg

Archival resources

National Library of Australia, Manuscript Collection Records of the Seven Writers group, between 1986 and approximately 2000

Papers of Sara Dowse, 1958-2007 [manuscript] Papers of Marian Eldridge, 1942-1997 [manuscript] Papers of Margaret Barbalet, 1974-1993 [manuscript] Papers of Marion Halligan, circa 1970-circa 2003 [manuscript] Maralinga cycle, 1988 [manuscript]

Author Details Barbara Lemon

Created1 June 2006Last modified20 November 2018

Digital resources



Title:Seven Writers 1990Type:ImageDate:3 May, 2023