The Australian Women's Register

Entry type: Organisation **Entry ID:** AWE2252

Sportswomen's Association of Australia (S.A. Division)

(1966 - 1997)

Born	19660101
Died	19971231
Occupation	Sporting Organisation

Summary

The Sportswomen's Association of Australia (S.A. Division) was formed in 1966 in response to a need felt by sportswomen in this state that they should organise in order to better represent their interests and achievements. As well as organising a committee in Adelaide, regional women in South Australia formed a country branch in Waikerie.

One initiative of the association was the establishment of a 'Sportswoman of the Year' award in 1966, the inaugural winner of which was athlete Dianne Burge. In February 1979 the S.A. Division set up an interim Australian Executive to form a National Association, and the first national conference was held in November that year. The Association at state and national level was dissolved in 1997.

Published resources

Resource

Trove, National Library of Australia, 2009

Site Exhibition

She's Game: Women Making Australian Sporting History, Australian Women's Archives Project, 2007, http://www.womenaustralia.info/exhib/sg/sport-home.html

Archival resources

State Library of South Australia

Sportswomen's Association of Australia (S.A. Division): SUMMARY RECORD

Author Details

Nikki Henningham

Created 12 January 2007 **Last modified** 20 November 2018