The Australian Women's Register

Entry type: Award Entry ID: AWE5374

Georgina Sweet Australian Laureate Fellowship

(2010 -)

Born 20100101

Summary

On 18 November 2010 the Prime Minister of Australia announced that the Australian Research Council (ARC) would award two additional research fellowships in the ARC *Australian Laureate Fellowships* scheme. ARC Chief Executive Officer, Professor Margaret Sheil, said 'the new fellowships are specifically designed to address the current low proportion of applications to the scheme by female researchers'.

The two fellowships are the *Kathleen Fitzpatrick Australian Laureate Fellowship* for the humanities, arts and social sciences, and *Georgina Sweet Australian Laureate Fellowship* for science and technology. The fellowships are awarded to 'outstanding female researchers to enable them to undertake activities to support and mentor women in these disciplines'.

Events

2011 - 2011

Professor Mahananda Dasgupta (Australian National University) awarded Georgina Sweet Australian Laureate Fellowship

2012 - 2012

Professor Nalini Joshi (The University of Sydney) awarded Georgina Sweet Australian Laureate Fellowship

2013 - 2013

Professor Tanya Monro (The University of Adelaide) awarded Georgina Sweet Australian Laureate Fellowship

2014 - 2014

Professor Veena Sahajwalla (The University of New South Wales) awarded Georgina Sweet Australian Laureate Fellowship

2014 - 2014

Professor Kate Smith-Miles (Monash University) awarded Georgina Sweet Australian Laureate Fellowship

Published resources

Resource

Trove, National Library of Australia, 2009

Resource Section

Australian Laureate Fellowships Funding outcomes, Australian Research Council, http://www.arc.gov.au/ncgp/laureate/laureate outcomes.htm

Media Release - Australian Research Council - New fellowships to advance women in research, 2010, http://www.arc.gov.au/media/releases/media 18nov10.htm

Author Details

Helen Morgan

Created 2 September 2014 **Last modified** 2 September 2014