The Australian Women's Register

Entry type: Organisation **Entry ID:** AWE0008

ACT Women's Consultative Council

(1989 - 2001)

Born	19890101, Canberra Australian Capital Territory Australia
Died	20011231, Canberra Australian Capital Territory Australia
Occupation	Advocate, Consultant

Summary

The ACT Women's Consultative Council was established in 1989 by the then chief minister Rosemary Follett to advise the chief minister on the status of women and women's issues. It ceased operation in 2001.

Details

The ACT Women's Consultative Council was established in 1989 by the then chief minister Rosemary Follett. The Council was given the following terms of reference:

to advise the Chief Minister on the status of women in the ACT:

to develop a broad overview of women's status in the ACT, with a particular emphasis on identifying gaps in programs or services and on advising priorities for attention, acknowledging that all programs, services and policies affect women to a greater or lesser extent; to provide to, and receive from women, and the organisations involved in women's issues, information about issues of concern to women; and

to prepare a yearly work program for approval by the first ACT Women's Consultative Council under these terms of reference.

The following women were members of the Council:

First Women's Consultative Council, 1989-1992

Pamela Cahir (Convenor to April 1990)

Susan Bambrick (Convenor September 1990-March 1991)

Maureen Bromfield (to May 1991)

Danielle Hyndes (Convenor March 1991-May 1992)

Gillian Boyd

Kathryn Cole

Elizabeth Grant, AM

Winsome Hall

Margaret Munro

Koula Notaras

Vanda Podravac

Alison Purvis (to July 1991)

Karen Richards (to May 1991)

Julia Ryan

Margaret Timpson

Second Women's Consultative Council, June 1992-June 1994

Julia Ryan (Convenor)

Ann Quadroy (Deputy Convenor from December 1993)

Dorothy Broom (until March 1994)

Grace Coe

Jennifer Bradley

Beverly Ching

Jacklynn Draper

Jane Grace

Gwen Gray

Charlotte Palmer

Jayne Pilkinton (until February 1994)

Heather Ponting

Felicity Rafferty

Betty Searle

Lorraine Weatherall

Third Women's Consultative Council, July 1995-June 1996

Jenny Morison (Chair) Danielle Hyndes (Deputy Chair) Robyne Bancroft Paula Calcino Margaret Carmody Betty Craig Elizabeth Grant, AM Donna Holden Ingrid McKenzie Anne Ranson Dennise Simpson Jean Thomson Lita Vidal

Fourth Women's Consultative Council, July 1996-March 1998

Danielle Hyndes (Chair)
Elizabeth Grant, AM
Margaret Carmody
Jean Thompson
Betty Craig
Karen Sorensen
Dennise Simpson
Linda Crebbin
Ingrid McKenzie
Robyne Bancroft
Lita Vidal

August 1998-June 2000

Karen Fogarty (Chair)
Jacqueline Pearce (Deputy Chair)
Aysun Adams
Libby Bell
Myriam Bonazzi
Betty Craig
Margaret Head
Cathi Moore
Glenda Munro
Julia Nesbitt
Margery Smyth, OAM
Megan Thompson
Jean Thompson
Lulu Turner
Ann Wentworth, AM

July 2000-September 2001 membership as above, with the addition of:

Matilda House

Published resources

Book

Getting Equal: the History of Australian Feminism, Lake, Marilyn, 1999

Resource

Trove, National Library of Australia, 2009

Site Exhibition

From Lady Denman to Katy Gallagher: A Century of Women's Contributions to Canberra, Australian Women's Archives Project, 2013,

http://www.womenaustralia.info/exhib/ldkg

Author Details

Patricia ni Ivor

Created 4 May 2000 **Last modified** 8 February 2013