Entry type: Organisation Entry ID: AWE0070

National Social Welfare Commission

(1972 - 1975)

Born	19720101, Canberra Australian Capital Territory Australia
Died	19751231
Occupation	Government department

Summary

The National Social Welfare Commission was created by the Whitlam Labor Government in 1972. It was abolished in 1975 following the election of the Fraser Liberal-National Party Government.

As Chair of the Commission, Marie Coleman introduced the Australian Assistance Plan..

Published resources

Resource Trove, National Library of Australia, 2009

Archival resources

National Library of Australia, Manuscript Collection Minutes [manuscript]

Author Details Elle Morrell

Created9 February 2001Last modified16 November 2005