Australian Women's Register

An initiative of The National Foundation for Australian Women (NFAW) in conjunction with The University of Melbourne

Skip to content

Use Trove to find more resources by/about this Woman

  • Trove

Stone, Sharman Nancy (1951 - )

The Honourable; Dr

23 May 1951
Pyramid Hill, Victoria, Australia
Alternative Names
  • Bawden, Sharman Nancy (maiden name)


A member of the Liberal Party of Australia, Sharman Stone was elected to the House of Representatives of the Australian Parliament representing the electorate of Murray, Victoria in 1996. She was appointed Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for the Environment and Heritage on 21 October 1998 and served in that capacity until October 2004, when she became Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Finance and Administration. She also served as Vice-President of the Executive Council. She was Minister for Workforce Participation from January 2006 until December 2007. She was re-elected in 1998, 2001, 2004, 2007, 2010 and 2013.


Sharman Stone completed a Bachelor of Arts (Hons) from Monash University; a Master of Arts from La Trobe University; a Graduate Diploma of Education from Hawthorn CAE; and a PhD from Monash.

Before her election to Federal Parliament, she worked as a Doctoral Research Fellow at Monash University's Department of Economics and Business. She has been a member of the House of Representatives Standing Committees on Primary Industries, Resources and Rural and Regional Affairs (from 25 May 1996); and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs (from 4 June 1997). Stone was a member of the Public Accounts Joint Statutory Committee from 29 May 1996 to 1 January 1998 and the Public Accounts and Audit from 1 January 1998.

Sources used to compile this entry:, accessed 5/12/2001;, accessed 5/12/2001.

Anne Heywood

Site-wide information and acknowledgements

National Foundation for Australian Women The University of Melbourne, eScholarship Research Centre

The Australian Women's Register is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Australia License