Australian Women's Register

An initiative of The National Foundation for Australian Women (NFAW) in conjunction with The University of Melbourne

Skip to content


  • Carrying on the Fight: Women Candidates in Victorian Parliamentary Elections

Use Trove to find more resources by/about this Woman

  • Trove

Powell, Jeanette (1949 - )

The Honourable

4 February 1949
Prescot, England
Parliamentarian and Local government councillor
Alternative Names
  • Cushion, Elizabeth Jeanette (maiden name)
  • Powell, Elizabeth Jeanette (also known as)


A member of the National Party, Jeanette Powell served as a local government councillor for the Shire of Shepparton from 1990-94 and as Shire president from 1993-4 before being elected to the Victorian State Parliament in 1996. She initially served in the Legislative Council representing the North-Eastern Province from 1996-2002. In November 2002 she was elected as the Member for Shepparton District in the Legislative Assembly. She was re-elected in November 2006 and again in November 2010. She held the ministerial portfolios of Local Government and Aboriginal Affairs in the Baillieu/Napthine Government. She retired from parliament at the November 2014 election.

Sources used to compile this entry: Herd, Margaret (ed.), Who's Who in Australia 2002, 38 edn, Crown Content, Melbourne, 2002, 2020 pp; [accessed 2016-05-10].

Rosemary Francis

Site-wide information and acknowledgements

National Foundation for Australian Women The University of Melbourne, eScholarship Research Centre

© Copyright in The Australian Women's Register is owned by the Australian Women's Archives Project
and vested in each of the authors in respect of their contributions from 2000

The Australian Women's Register is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Australia License

The Australian Women's Register is published quarterly by the Australian Women's Archives Project
ISSN 2207-3124