Australian Women's Register

An initiative of The National Foundation for Australian Women (NFAW) in conjunction with The University of Melbourne

Skip to content


  • Faith, Hope and Charity Australian Women and Imperial Honours: 1901-1989
  • The Encyclopedia of Women and Leadership in Twentieth-Century Australia
  • The Women's Pages: Australian Women and Journalism since 1850

Use Trove to find more resources by/about this Woman

  • Trove

Buttrose, Ita Clare (1942 - )

AO, OBE, 2001 Victorian Honour Roll of Women

17 January 1942
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Businesswoman, Editor, Print Journalist, Radio Journalist, Television Journalist, Journalist and Author


On 13 June 1988, Ita Buttrose was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for service to the community, particularly in the fields of medical education and health care. In the Queen's Birthday list 1979 she was appointed an Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) for service to journalism. She became the first woman to be awarded the Harnett Medal for community service and achievements in publishing, journalism, radio and television.


Daughter of: Charles Oswald and Mary Clare (née Rodgers) Buttrose.

Ita Buttrose was the founding editor of Cleo magazine in 1972. She then became editor of the Australian Women's Weekly and later publisher of Australian Consolidated Press Women's Division. A journalist by trade, Ida Buttrose has worked in all forms of media (print, radio and television) during her career.

Before starting her own company Capricorn Publishing, Ita Buttrose was a director of News Ltd, editor-in-chief of the Daily and Sunday Telegraphs, columnist and editorial consultant for the Fairfax magazine group and then editor-in-chief of the Sun Herald newspaper.

From 1984-1988, Ita Buttrose chaired the National Advisory Committee on AIDS. She is patron of Women of Vision, World Vision Australia, The University of Third Age, the Juvenile Diabetes Foundation of Australia, Amarant, the National Menopause Foundation, the Sydney Women's Festival, Safety House and National Institute of Secretaries and Administrators.

In 1984 she was named Variety Club's Personality of the Year as well as Australasian Academy of Broadcast, Arts and Sciences for the most promising Newcomer to Radio. In 1993 Ita Buttrose was named Juvenile Diabetes Foundation Australian of the Year.

[1] accessed 28/10/2002.
[2] ibid


17 January 1942
Born daughter of Charles Oswald and Mary Clare (née Rodgers) Buttrose
1970 - 2000
Career in journalism active
1972 - 1975
Founding editor of Cleo
1975 - 1976
Editor of the Australian Women's Weekly
1976 - 1981
Editor-in-chief of the Australian Women's Weekly and of Cleo
1978 - 1981
Director of the K G Murray Leisure Group
16 June 1979
Appointed the Order of the British Empire - Officer (Civil)
Appointed Board member of News Ltd, Australia
1981 - 1984
Editor-in-chief of the The Daily Telegraph and of the The Sunday Telegraph
1984 - 1987
Broadcaster for Radio 2KY and 2UE, Sydney
1984 - 1988
Publishing consultant to Women's Day and Portfolio magazines
1984 - 1988
Chairperson of the National Advisory Committee on AIDS (NACAIDS)
Editor-in-chief of The Sun-Herald
1988 - 1994
Chief Executive Officer of Capricorn Publishing Pty Ltd
13 June 1988
Appointed Officer of the Order of Australia (AO)
1989 - 1994
Editor of ITA Magazine
1990 - 1994
Director of the Australia Advisory Board
1990 - 1996
Director of the Prudential Corporation Trust Australia
1991 - 1992
Director of Television & Telecasters Pty Ltd
1991 - 1994
Chairman of AIDS Trust Australia
Awarded Hartnett Medal
1992 - 1993
President of Chief Executive Women
1995 - 1996
Broadcaster for Radio 2GB, Sydney
1995 - 1997
President of the National Opera Festival
1995 - 1998
Director of Buttrose and Dominguez Design
TV Panelist for Beauty and the Beast on Foxtel and the Ten Network, Australia
1997 - 1998
Member of the Federal Government Conference for Older Australians
1997 - 1999
Chairman of the Australian Services Nurses' National Memorial Fund
Member of the Alcohol Beverages Advertising Code Complaints Adjudication Panel
Columnist for Courier Newspaper Group (Sydney)
Director of The Smith Family, Australia
Columnist for The Australian Women's Weekly
GST Customer Advocate for Woolworths Supermarket chain
Director of Terraplanet Ltd
Inducted onto the Victorian Honour Roll of Women
Chairman of Terraplanet Ltd

Sources used to compile this entry: Herd, Margaret (ed.), Who's Who in Australia 2002, 38 edn, Crown Content, Melbourne, 2002, 2020 pp. pp. 347-48.; accessed 28/10/2002.

Related entries

Related Cultural Artefacts

Anne Heywood

Site-wide information and acknowledgements

National Foundation for Australian Women The University of Melbourne, eScholarship Research Centre

© Copyright in The Australian Women's Register is owned by the Australian Women's Archives Project
and vested in each of the authors in respect of their contributions from 2000

The Australian Women's Register is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Australia License

The Australian Women's Register is published quarterly by the Australian Women's Archives Project
ISSN 2207-3124