• Entry type: Resource
  • Entry ID: AWH000943

Papers of Herbert and Ivy Brookes, 1869-1970 [manuscript

  • Repository National Library of Australia, Manuscript Collection
  • Reference MS 1924
  • Date Range 1869 - 1970
  • Description

    MS 1924 consists of correspondence, notes, diaries, minute books, photographs and cuttings covering every phase of the careers of Herbert and Ivy Brookes. There are papers on the Liberal Party, People’s Liberal Party, Commonwealth Liberal Party, Brown Society, 1907-1921, Australian Protective League, 1918, National Union, 1917, Loyalist League, 1918, Board of Trade, 1918-1928, Tariff Board, 1922-1928, Australian Broadcasting Commission, 1932-1940, University of Melbourne, 1933-1947, National Council of Women, 1921-1970, Women’s Hospital, 1912-1970, International Club, 1932-1958, and the Lady Northcote Permanent Trust Fund, 1908-1969 (140 boxes, 3 fol. Boxes, 4 fol. Items, 1 framed item). The main correspondents are: Sir Kenneth Bailey, Sir James Barrett, Sir Norman Brookes, S.M. Bruce, W.J. Cleary, Sir Joseph Cook, Bishop Philip Crick, Alfred and Pattie Deakin, Sir Frederic Eggleston, Sir Littleton Groom, Sir Bernard Heinze, W.M. Hughes, Arthur Woodward, Sir Richard Jebb, H. Price, Ina Fisher, Timothy Littleton, J.S. Crow, Philip Kennedy, Sir Walter Leitch, A.H.S. Lucas, Jane McMillan, Professor G.W.L. Marshall-Hall, Sir Walter Massey-Green, Sir Walter Murdoch, George Nicholas, Sir George Pearce, Sir Claude Reading, Staniforth Ricketson, Sir David Rivett, Rohan Rivett, T.E. Ruth, Rev. Charles Strong and Mary Allen. Card index to correspondence available. The Acc05.153 instalment comprises a pocket diary, 1970, the last kept by Ivy Brookes (1 folder).

  • Quantity 0 29.05 m
  • Access Available for research. Not for loan.
  • Finding Aid http://nla.gov.au/nla.obj-229738937/findingaid

Related entries

  • Primary
    • Brookes, Ivy (1883 - 1970)
  • See also
    • Glencross, Eleanor (1876 - 1950)
    • Housewives Association of Victoria (1915 - )
    • Deakin, Elizabeth Martha Anne (Pattie) (1863 - 1934)
    • National Council of Women of Australia (1931 - )