• Entry type: Organisation
  • Entry ID: AWE2252

Sportswomen’s Association of Australia (S.A. Division)

(From 1966 – 1997)
  • Occupation Sporting Organisation


The Sportswomen’s Association of Australia (S.A. Division) was formed in 1966 in response to a need felt by sportswomen in this state that they should organise in order to better represent their interests and achievements. As well as organising a committee in Adelaide, regional women in South Australia formed a country branch in Waikerie.

One initiative of the association was the establishment of a ‘Sportswoman of the Year’ award in 1966, the inaugural winner of which was athlete Dianne Burge. In February 1979 the S.A. Division set up an interim Australian Executive to form a National Association, and the first national conference was held in November that year. The Association at state and national level was dissolved in 1997.

Published resources

Archival resources

  • State Library of South Australia
    • Sportswomen's Association of Australia (S.A. Division) : SUMMARY RECORD

Related entries

  • Founder
    • Quarrell, Lois Gertrude (1914 - 1991)
  • Related Women
    • Burge, Dianne (1943 - )
  • Related Concepts
    • Women in Sport
  • Presided
    • Litchfield, Ruby Beatrice (1912 - 2001)