• Entry type: Organisation
  • Entry ID: AWE5379

Supreme Court of the Australian Capital Territory

(From 1934 – )


The Supreme Court of the Australian Capital Territory was established by the Commonwealth Seat of Government Supreme Court Act, 1933. It commenced operation from 1 January 1934 as the superior court of record for matters originating in the ACT. It has unlimited jurisdiction within the territory in civil matters (although matters involving less than $250 000 are usually brought in the Magistrates Court), and hears the most serious criminal matters.

Within the Australian court system it is one of eight state and territory Supreme Courts having unlimited jurisdiction in their respective parts of Australia. These Supreme Courts are second only to the High Court of Australia as the final court of appeal in the Australian judicial hierarchy.

Published resources

Related entries

  • Related Women
    • Burton, Pamela Melrose (1946 - )
    • Doogan, Maria Krystyna