• Entry type: Organisation
  • Entry ID: AWE1108

The ANZAC Fellowship of Women

(From 1921 – 1957)


The ANZAC Fellowship of Women was founded in 1921 by Dr Mary Booth, with the object of fostering the commemorative character of ANZAC day as an inspiration to future generations. Booth remained president of the group until 1956. In 1930 a London branch was also established. From 1931-41, and again from 1950, the ANZAC Festival Committee was established to emphasise the value of the Arts in helping to foster the ANZAC tradition. The group also established the Empire Service Club for Boy Settlers in 1923, which organised welcome parties for ‘Dreadnought’ boys and represented the first welfare work instituted for them.

Published resources

Archival resources

  • Mitchell and Dixson Libraries Manuscripts Collection
    • Mary Booth papers, 1899-1957
    • Series 01: Mary Booth papers, 1905-1957
  • National Library of Australia, Manuscript Collection
    • Papers of Mary Booth, [ca. 1918]-1979 [manuscript]
    • Papers of H.P. Philpot and G.W. Philpot, 1912-1985 [manuscript]
  • State Library of New South Wales
    • Historical notes, 1914-1970, compiled by Mrs. Margaret Kentley in 1979

Related entries

  • Member
    • Philpot, Grace Winifred (1902 - 1985)
  • Founded
    • Booth, Mary (1869 - 1956)
  • Presided
    • Booth, Mary (1869 - 1956)