• Entry type: Organisation
  • Entry ID: AWE0539

The Sybil Irving Memorial Fund Committee

  • Occupation Commemoration


Sybil Irving’s friends and colleagues felt that her great contribution to the community, through her concern for the happiness and welfare of others, should not be forgotten.

A National Memorial Committee was formed to appeal for subscriptions. This brought response from all states and overseas.

A chain of memorials around Australia was planned – one in each capital city. The culmination was the unveiling, by Her Excellency Lady Cowen, of the memorial in Commonwealth Gardens, Canberra on 11 March 1979.


The Sybil Irving Memorial Fund Committee

National Chairman

Miss May Douglas, OBE – Girl Guides, AWAS, AAMWS

Deputy Chairman

Miss Mabel Cooper, MBE – Girl Guides

Honorary Secretary

Miss Maureen White – Australian Red Cross Society

Honorary Treasurer

Miss J Strahan – Council on the Ageing


Miss Jean Wood, OBE – Girl Guides, AWAS
Miss P Adam-Smith – AWAS
Miss R M Alsop – Australian Red Cross Society
Colonel K M Fowler – WRAAC
Miss A McArthur Campbell – Girl Guides, Crippled Childrens’ Assn, Army
Miss D Madden – AWAS
Miss M S Williamson – AAMWS, WRAAC
Mr A Wimpole – (Legal Advisor) Army

State Representatives

Miss Dorothea Skov – AWAS

South Australia

Miss O J Michelmore – AWAS


Mrs Sefton Taylor – Girl Guides, Red Cross

Western Australia

Mrs B Clinton – AWAS, Red Cross


Published resources

Related entries

  • Related Women
    • Adam-Smith, Patricia Jean (Patsy) (1924 - 2001)
    • Fowler, Kathleen May
    • Skov, Dorathea Jane (1911 - 1985)
    • Irving, Sybil Howy (1897 - 1973)
  • Chair
    • Douglas, Mary Stewart (May) (1904 - 1999)
  • Related Cultural Artefacts
    • The Sybil Irving Memorial, Western Australia
    • The Sybil Irving Memorial, Victoria
    • The Sybil Irving Memorial, Tasmania
    • The Sybil Irving Memorial, New South Wales
    • The Sybil Irving Memorial, South Australia
    • The Sybil Irving Memorial, Queensland
    • The Sybil Irving Memorial, Australian Capital Territory