Australian Women's Register

An initiative of The National Foundation for Australian Women (NFAW) in conjunction with The University of Melbourne

Skip to content

Use Trove to find more resources by/about this Organisation

  • Trove

Australian Women in Agriculture (1993 - )

Social action organisation and Lobby group
No permanent headquarter: Email:


Australian Women in Agriculture (AWiA) was founded on St Valentines Day, February 14, 1993, and by 2004 was a national body of around 500 members. Members come from a large cross section of industries and include farmers, scientists, educators, communicators and others. All members bring a wealth of talents to the organisation and to agriculture. The group is represented on government boards as well as at local levels where industry and rural issues are addressed.
Australian Women in Agriculture is committed to promoting the advancement of women in agriculture by:
• uniting and raising the profile of women in agriculture;
• addressing rural and agricultural inequalities;
• working to ensure the survival of agriculture for future generations;
• securing local, regional, national and international recognition; and,
• achieving the status of a political and economic force.

Related entries

Board of Directors

  • Thiele, Deborah (1954 - )

    She has served as a South Australian Board Member and Treasurer of Australian Women in Agriculture

Foundation Member

Related Women

Archival resources

National Library of Australia Manuscript Collection

  • Mary Salce Papers, 1976 - 2007, MS Acc10.145, MS Acc11.123; Salce, Mary (1945 - ); National Library of Australia Manuscript Collection. Details
  • Papers of Laurene Dietrich, 1990-1994 [manuscript], 1990 - 1994, MS Acc11.024; Dietrich, Laurene (1951 - ); National Library of Australia Manuscript Collection. Details

Jane Carey

Site-wide information and acknowledgements

National Foundation for Australian Women The University of Melbourne, eScholarship Research Centre

The Australian Women's Register is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Australia License